Weng Wei Hsiang


_project

Wind Bridge II
Wind Bridge I
Echo

Now Past Now
Hidden Island
Over Here, Over There
Walking on a Passage
Site in Superposition
Dormant Volcano
Loop
Daily Phrases
Reshaping History
Reshaping
Space as a Limit


_Commission and Collaboration

Rethinking Environmental Sensing with Aerocene
Pheadra’s Love
Mountain Language


_about

Weng Wei Hsiang is a media artist and researcher currently based between Taipei, TW and London, UK. His practice investigates the intersection between artificial and natural systems to examine how we, as humans, share, co-produce and sense time and space. Employing materials such as air, light, sound, and data, he constructs devices, situations, and experimental set-ups within spatial and landscape settings. These set-ups often play the role of both observer and creator, mediating our perspectives of dynamic situations and living systems, and the relationships create a dissonance that leads to unpredictable outcomes which test how physical movement, sensory engagement and the interaction of the body and brain influence our perception of our environment.

︎︎︎CV
︎︎︎Contact



© Copyright Weng Wei Hsiang 2021
Mark

Echo

Antenna with Archival Satellite Images | Metal, Wood structure, Electronics
2021
 




Echo is a work series that responds to the human construction and intersection of time zones. This project uses an antenna to receive signals from satellites travelling beyond earth’s atmosphere.

These orbiting satellites are known to use GMT (UTC) as its standardised time. In this sense, the concept of time breaks into fragments, as each satellite orbits in outer space, where there is not a clear definition of time zones. At the ground, I attempt to receive a series of satellite images broadcasted from weather satellites (NOAA 15, NOAA 18) in a remote GMT time zone in space, and at the same time take a series of photos of the sky.

Depending on which time zone we are located in, these satellites reflect a picture which could have been taken from the past, present, or future. Juxtaposing images from the ground and from the sky, I interconnect two perspectives that look for each other but cannot see each other; at the same time corss-refference a defining moment of «present».

What time is it at your current location?








1


2
3
4
5

6
7
8

1. 11/12/21 11:32 CET | NOAA(18) 10:32 UTC
2. 12/12/21 01:23 CET | NOAA(18) 00:23 UTC
3. 12/12/21 13:19 CET | NOAA(18) 12:19 UTC
4. 13/12/21 18:58 CET | NOAA(18) 17:58 UTC
5. 14/12/21 18:33 CET | NOAA(18) 17:33 UTC
6. 15/12/21 07:42 CET | NOAA(18) 06:42 UTC
7. 16/12/21 07:57 CET | NOAA(18) 06:57 UTC
8. 17/12/21 18:55 CET | NOAA(18) 17:55 UTC


Mark